Mission Statement

Business retention, expansion and attraction

Vision Statement

The Portage Economic Development organization (Portage EDC) will provide full service support for the development, growth, success, attraction and innovation of businesses in Portage. We will be recognized as a community leader through partnerships, facilitation technological development / training, regional collaboration and helping to build a skilled workforce. We are the trusted premiere choice for business opportunities, economic development and partnership. We support a quality of life in the Portage community.

Strategic Plan

  • Viable Organization
    • Goal:  To create a well-funded organization with active and engaged partnership that will add value to the economic development of Portage.
      • Strategy:  Through communication and partnership of members in renewing and gaining sponsorships.
      • By seeking quality candidates for board membership.
  • Strong Public / Private Partnership
    • Goal:  To build a strong successful business community that has Portage EDC’s and government’s full support for the identification of business prospects as well as existing businesses in Portage.
      • Strategy:  Through communication and collaboration between Portage EDC, the City, the State and others for seamless fair and consistent business development processes.
  • Resource, Facilitation, and Support for Business
    • Goal:  To provide full service support for new and existing businesses that will assist their success and will create jobs that will contribute to the economic well-being of Portage.
      • Strategy:  Offering assistance with tax incentives, workforce development, networking, training, and collaboration with other agencies.
  • Branding, Marketing and Communication
    • Goal:  To develop a marketing plan that will clearly explain who we are and what we do to enhance to economic development of Portage.

BOARD MEMBERS

Brandie Belstra
Brandie Belstra
Board Treasurer
Centier Bank
Phone: (219) 763-3376
Email: bbelstra@centier.com
Tiffany Bley
Tiffany Bley
Board Member
Fronius USA
Phone: (219) 734-5601
Email: bley.tiffany@fronius.com
Dan Botich
Dan Botich
Board Member
SEH of Indiana, LLC
Phone: (219) 513-2516
Email: dbotich@sehinc.com
Colin Highlands
Colin Highlands
Board Member
City of Portage
Phone: (219) 762-5425
Email: chighlands@portage-in.com
Lisa Kiger
Lisa Kiger
Board Vice President
St. Mary’s Medical Center
Phone: (219) 947-6058
Email: lisa.m.kiger@comhs.org
James Magera
James Magera
Board Member
1st Source Bank
Phone: 219-762-2165
Email: magera@1stsource.com
Andy Maletta
Andy Maletta
executive director
City of Portage/Portage EDC
Phone: (219) 762-5425
Cell: (219) 406-3731
Email: amaletta@portage-in.com
Mike Micka
Mike Micka
Board Member
Holladay Properties
Phone: (219) 841-5583
Email: mmicka@holladayproperties.com
Sandy Oliver
Sandy Oliver
Board Member
Porter Regional Health System
Phone: (219) 938-8569
Email: sandra.oliver@porterhealth.com
Amy Parker
Amy Parker
Business Development
Portage EDC
Phone: (219) 762-9761
Cell: (219) 742-5914
Email: aparker@portagein.org
Bill Rathjen
Bill Rathjen
Board Member
McColly/Bennett
Phone: (219) 987-3327
Email: bill.rathjen@mccolly.com
Aco Sikoski
Aco Sikoski
Board Secretary
Ivy Tech Community College
Phone: (219) 464‐8514
Email: asikoski@ivytech.edu
Carl Simpson
Carl Simpson
Board Member
MonoSol, LLC
Phone: (219) 763-0200
Email: csimpson@monosol.com
Mayor James Snyder
Mayor James Snyder
Board Member
City of Portage
Phone: (219) 762‐5425
Email: jsnyder@portage‐in.com
Gregg Sobkowski
Gregg Sobkowski
Board Member
Hodges & Davis
Phone: (219) 762-9129
Email: gsobskowski@hodgesdavis.com
Michael Stephens
Michael Stephens
Board Member
Portage Township Schools
Phone: (219) 764-6004
Email: michael.stepehens@portage.k12.in.us
Diane Thalmann
Diane Thalmann
Board President
NIPSCO
Phone: (219) 647‐5134
Email: dthalmann@nisource.com
Lorelei Weimer
Lorelei Weimer
Board Member
Indiana Dunes Tourism
Phone: (219) 926‐2255
Email: lorelei@indianadunes.com
Linda Woloshansky
Linda Woloshansky
Board Member
Center of Workforce Innovations
Phone: (219) 462-2940
Email: lwolo@innovativeworkforce.com